Skip to content ↓

Wyndham Park Nursery School

What we learn

Our Curriculum

At Wyndham Park Nursery School we are very proud of our curriculum. We follow the children’s interests to make sure our planned activities are relevant and interesting to our children, whilst also making sure key skills are addressed to ensure the children leave us ‘Primary School Ready’.

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum is delivered through carefully planned activities and play opportunities to help ensure that all children have the opportunity to reach their full potential and experience the best possible start to their education.  The EYFS sets out seven ‘Areas of Learning and Development’ and together these make up the skills, knowledge and experiences appropriate for children as they grow, learn and develop.  They are:

Prime Areas

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Physical Development
  • Communication and Language

Specific Areas

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the World
  • Expressive Arts and Design

The Prime areas are fundamental, work together and move through to support development in all other areas.  The Specific areas include essential skills and knowledge for children to participate successfully in society.  Together they provide a balanced nursery curriculum.  You will receive more information regarding the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum once your child attends the nursery.  You can access more information about the EYFS via the following websites: